Singing

Singing today. Along the canal. And grinning at the blackberries. And typing as I walk, check out the skills. Today we note a significant improvement on last week.  Due to a combination of things that are mostly Melksham Comic Con.

I said I’d help again this year, because it’s run by a group of seriously impressive volunteers and is simply one of the coolest events in Melksham.  But the week before I thought I’d better call the organisers and say do you know what, I can’t do this. I haven’t got enough smiles to be a helpful friendly member of your energetic inspiring team. I can maybe help with washing the dishes or something but please don’t make me have to talk to people.  It was obviously a bit late in the day for that sort of flakiness so I found my staff T shirt, ironed it dutifully and showed up at 630 am with the rest of them.

And had the most amazing weekend.

I can’t believe I had let myself forget that the secret to happiness is to forget about yourself and do stuff for other people. Within the first hour of setting up tables, sorting extensions and smiling at strangers I already felt better. By lunchtime, with the crowds of keen comic consumers- including

a collection of convincinly costumed super heroes, a hall full of fascinating and fantastic creative exhibitions, all managed magnificently by the excellent team of awesome people that I was lucky enough to be a part of, I was deeply inspired.

 

 

So much so that by midnight I was dancing and singing along to ‘The Whole of the Moon’ – complete with the requisit theatrical gestures – in a circle of fabulous people at the ‘silent’ disco in the Kings Arms.

And I was so happy.  Laughing at the ceiling happy. And massively grateful to the guys who sorted out such an inspired source of even more awesomeness in an already amazing weekend.

 

 

 

 

The Comic Convention was as ever, fantastic. The artists, events, presentations and panels were enjoyed by masses of happy people, from Melksham and way beyond, and the excited buzz in the hall reached all the way through town. But the extra incredibly special impact with an event like this is the amazing unbottleable sense of community that gets created when such a crowd of cool people come together. Thousands of hours were given over the last year by the team of volunteers who made it happen, a team I didn’t help nearly as much as I wanted to, but who were still so appreciative of my comparatively tiny contribution over the weekend, for which, in return, I received so much more than I ever could have expected.

 

 

 

 

I got my happiness back. I have bloody missed it.

 

 

 

 

Thank you so much

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment