Melksham Makers

Whenever I’m in the gym my brain races forth in pace with the treadmill and I think I must write that down when I get home!

And it takes the duration of the achey amble back in the cold night air to forget it all.

Subheadings at least:

Do a ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’ course in Melksham – to help people with confidence, aspiration, motivation. I could do it. And I’d be a living example of feeling the fear and getting up to public speak anyway.

Create a website/list/booklet of ‘Melksham Makers’ – people who make a difference to the Melksham area (I used this word to describe to my sister the significance of the 102 attendees of our Melksham Forward event last week)

Go to church – what is a central piece of the community if it isn’t where people gather to share their faith? I missed the memorial service on Sunday simply due to lack of buses, should have made more effort, should make more in future, especially with Christmas coming up, people will be in church.

Oh yes. My brainwave. Watch this. Write to all the ‘eyewateringly’ wealthy people with my community partnership business plan. At the moment we run this thing on 11 grand a year. ELEVEN GRAND! At a meeting recently someone justified a 35 grand reserve in their bank as a contingency for a year of their part time administrator’s salary. My whole table went ey?. EY? Someone turned to me and said how much are you on, our part time administrator? NINE GRAND that’s how much. So, here is my plan. Outline just how much work you get for each of those pounds with me, and how much more community impact per pound you’d get if there was a team of me – my scribblings on the bus calculate that we could run a jealousy-inducingly productive and successful community area partnership on 64 grand a year, with 5 part time posts, and a one hour a week accountant.

I don’t know who to pitch this to, but perhaps, if I build it they will come. Outline what we need and then happy serendipitous happenchance will cross my paths – on perhaps one of my ever so fortuitous lifts blagged across the county – with some wealthy community minded person who was just wondering what to invest 64 grand a year in.

Speaking of which I need to find travel back from a public transport meeting in Devizes tomorrow night.

Best get on to that next.

This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment